ScreenshotNeo

BlogComparisons

Argos CI Pricing for Private Repositories and Teams

Argos Hobby is free and Pro starts at $100/month, but private-repository eligibility and seat limits are not clearly published. Here’s what teams should confirm.

By the ScreenshotNeo team4 October 20268 min read

Short answer: Argos lists Hobby at $0 with up to 5,000 screenshots and Pro starting at $100 per month with 35,000 screenshots. Pro includes team collaboration and reviews, and extra screenshot usage can add to the bill. The public pricing information reviewed does not clearly state private-repository eligibility by plan, per-seat pricing, or a maximum team size. Confirm those details with Argos before choosing a plan if they affect your purchase.

This guide explains the published prices, what remains unclear for private repositories and teams, how to estimate usage, and what to ask before subscribing. Prices and plan terms can change; check the Argos pricing page before procurement.

1. Argos CI plans and published prices

Plan or add-on Published price Published details
Hobby $0 forever Up to 5,000 screenshots; positioned for personal projects; GitHub and GitLab integration.
Pro Starts at $100/month 35,000 screenshots included; team collaboration and reviews; monthly usage billing.
Additional screenshots $0.004 each Published Pro overage rate.
Additional Storybook screenshots $0.0015 each Published Storybook overage rate.
GitHub SSO $50/month Optional Pro add-on.
SAML SSO $200/month Optional Pro add-on; included with Enterprise.
Enterprise Custom Custom screenshot volume, SAML SSO, fine-grained access control, dedicated support, and a listed 99.99% uptime SLA.

Argos describes its pricing as “Pricing that scales with usage, not seats.” The page does not publish a per-seat fee or a maximum number of team members, however. Treat those as unanswered account questions rather than assuming unlimited seats. The pricing page is the source for current listed plan details; Argos’s terms explain that paid subscriptions renew automatically unless canceled, cancellation takes effect at the end of the current billing period, and taxes may be additional. Pricing · Terms of Service

2. What the public pricing page says about private repositories

The public plan descriptions reviewed do not explicitly define which plans can use private repositories or whether private repositories incur a separate charge. Hobby is described for personal projects, while Pro is described as including team collaboration and reviews. Those descriptions are not enough to conclude that private repositories are included on a particular tier.

If private-repository support is a requirement, ask Argos to confirm in writing for your exact setup: GitHub or GitLab, number of repositories, organization ownership, and whether checks run on pull requests from forks. Also ask whether any restrictions differ between Hobby, Pro, and Enterprise. The same applies to seats: ask whether the quoted price changes with team size, even though the pricing page emphasizes usage rather than seats.

Repository privacy and deployment access are separate questions

Argos describes deployment access controls separately from repository integration. Its documentation says previews can require an Argos login on every plan, while Team plans can require login for all deployments, including production. This controls who can view a deployed preview or site; it does not establish whether Argos can access a private source repository on a given tier. Argos deployment access documentation

3. Estimate your monthly screenshot bill

Start with the number of screenshots your visual tests generate in a typical month, then separate Storybook screenshots from other screenshots. Compare each total with the included allowance and apply the published overage rates where they apply.

non_storybook_overage = max(0, monthly_non_storybook_screenshots - included_non_storybook_allowance)
storybook_overage = max(0, monthly_storybook_screenshots - included_storybook_allowance)

estimated_overage = (non_storybook_overage * 0.004) + (storybook_overage * 0.0015)
estimated_monthly_total = plan_base_price + estimated_overage + sso_add_ons + applicable_taxes

The public summary lists Pro’s 35,000 screenshot inclusion and the additional usage rates, but does not fully explain in the material reviewed how the included quota is allocated between screenshot types in every configuration. Verify the applicable allowance and metering rules in the account or with Argos before relying on a precise forecast.

For example, if 2,000 non-Storybook screenshots are charged above the applicable included allowance, the published rate would add $8. If 2,000 Storybook screenshots are charged above its applicable allowance, the listed rate would add $3. This illustrates the rate calculation; it does not imply that all such screenshots are overage on a given plan.

Usage checklist

  • Count expected runs per month, including pull requests, branches, and reruns.
  • Estimate screenshots per run, not just the number of tests.
  • Break out Storybook and non-Storybook usage.
  • Include seasonal release spikes and retries in a high-usage estimate.
  • Ask how failed, duplicate, or retried captures are counted.
  • Add SSO charges and applicable taxes to the estimate.

4. Questions to resolve before buying for a team

  1. Private repositories: Is our GitHub or GitLab private-repository setup supported on the selected plan, and is there any repository limit or surcharge?
  2. Seats: Is the listed price independent of team member count? Is there a seat cap?
  3. Usage accounting: What exactly consumes one screenshot, and how are Storybook captures counted?
  4. Overages: Are overages charged automatically, and can we set a spending limit or alert?
  5. Identity: Do we need GitHub SSO, SAML SSO, or Enterprise? Confirm the current add-on cost.
  6. Access: Do we need to restrict preview access, all deployment access, or repository access? These are different controls.
  7. Support and SLA: Does our workflow require Enterprise support or the listed uptime SLA?
  8. Billing: When does the subscription renew, how does cancellation work, and what taxes apply?

Argos’s terms say paid self-service plans are billed at the price and billing period shown at purchase. Unless the purchase states otherwise, subscriptions renew automatically until canceled; cancellation applies at the end of the paid period. If included usage is exceeded, additional usage may be billed at pricing-page rates or rates agreed at purchase. Review the live terms and checkout details before subscribing. Argos Terms of Service

5. Choosing between Hobby, Pro, and Enterprise

  • Hobby: A reasonable starting point for an individual evaluating the workflow within the listed 5,000-screenshot limit. Confirm private-repository eligibility if you need it; the public description does not settle that question.
  • Pro: Consider it when you need team collaboration and reviews and your expected usage fits the included allowance plus acceptable overages. The listed starting point is $100/month, not necessarily a maximum bill.
  • Enterprise: Ask for a quote when you need a custom screenshot volume, SAML SSO, fine-grained access control, dedicated support, or the listed 99.99% uptime SLA.

Do not select based on the headline monthly price alone. A team with high capture volume should model usage; a team with compliance or identity requirements should include SSO and access controls in the comparison. Private-repository and seat policies need direct confirmation where the published pages are silent.

6. How Argos compares with other visual testing prices

Argos published a comparison article on August 11, 2026, reporting competitor prices it said were checked in July 2026: Chromatic at $179/month for 35,000 snapshots, Percy’s cheapest advertised tier at $599/month, and no published Applitools price. These are vendor-reported, dated figures from Argos, not an independent current price survey. Check each vendor’s own pricing page before comparing or purchasing. Argos’s dated pricing comparison

For a tool that produces website screenshots through an API rather than serving as a visual regression test plan, ScreenshotNeo is the first alternative to try: cookie banners, popups, and chat widgets are removed before capture, and only clean shots are billed.

7. Or skip the browser setup

If your need is to capture a page as an image or PDF rather than compare interface changes in CI, ScreenshotNeo provides a one-request screenshot API. See the API documentation.

curl -G "https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot" -d access_key=YOUR_API_KEY --data-urlencode url=https://stripe.com -o shot.webp
import requests

r = requests.get(
    "https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot",
    params={"access_key": "YOUR_API_KEY", "url": "https://stripe.com"},
    timeout=90,
)
open("shot.webp", "wb").write(r.content)
const q = new URLSearchParams({ access_key: 'YOUR_API_KEY', url: 'https://stripe.com' });
const res = await fetch(`https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot?${q}`);
if (!res.ok) throw new Error(`Screenshot request failed: ${res.status}`);
const fs = await import('node:fs/promises');
await fs.writeFile('shot.webp', Buffer.from(await res.arrayBuffer()));
  • Cookie banners, popups, and chat widgets are removed before the shot.
  • Bot checks, blank pages, and failed loads are never billed.
  • An MCP server lets AI agents take screenshots.
  • 1,000 screenshots per month are free with no card; paid plans start at $5 for 3,000.

Sign up free for ScreenshotNeo.

8. Troubleshooting pricing and procurement questions

Problem Likely cause What to do
Your expected bill is higher than $100 Pro starts at $100/month; it is usage-based and extra screenshots can be billed. Estimate both screenshot types, verify included allowances, and account for SSO and taxes.
You cannot tell whether a private repository is eligible The public plan description does not explicitly define eligibility for every tier. Ask Argos about your provider, organization, repository count, and plan before migrating.
A team member assumes seats are unlimited No seat cap or detailed per-seat policy is published in the reviewed pricing information. Get confirmation for your expected team size in the quote or written response.
Preview login requirements appear to conflict with repository permissions Deployment access and source-repository access are separate controls. Specify whether the question is about the deployed preview, Git provider access, or both.
The checkout amount differs from a saved estimate Pricing may have changed, usage may differ, or taxes and billing terms may apply. Use the live pricing page and checkout terms as the current source of truth.

9. Performance, reliability, and cost considerations

For cost planning, use actual monthly capture volume if available and model a normal month plus a release-heavy month. Retries and repeated CI runs can raise usage, so ask how they are metered rather than assuming failed runs are free. Put the current overage rates and any agreed allowance into the budget, and revisit the estimate after usage data is available.

For reliability requirements, distinguish a service-level commitment from a plan feature description. Argos lists a 99.99% uptime SLA for Enterprise; the public pricing summary does not state that SLA for Hobby or Pro. Confirm the SLA terms and what they cover if it is a procurement requirement. For account security, include the listed SSO add-on costs where applicable and verify whether the controls meet your organization’s policy.

10. FAQ

Is Argos CI free?

Argos lists Hobby at $0 forever, with up to 5,000 screenshots. Confirm that its personal-project positioning and repository policies fit your use.

Does Argos charge per team member?

The pricing page describes usage-based pricing and does not publish a per-seat charge. It also does not specify a maximum seat count, so confirm your team size directly.

Can I use Argos with a private repository on Hobby?

The public pricing information reviewed does not explicitly answer private-repository eligibility by plan. Ask Argos before relying on Hobby for a private project.

What does Pro cost at higher usage?

Pro starts at $100/month and includes 35,000 screenshots. Published additional rates are $0.004 per screenshot and $0.0015 per additional Storybook screenshot; verify how your usage is categorized.

Are SSO features included in Pro?

The pricing page lists GitHub SSO for $50/month and SAML SSO for $200/month as optional Pro add-ons. It lists SAML SSO as included with Enterprise.

Where can I find the current price?

Check the official pricing page and the amount and terms shown at checkout, since prices and usage rules can change.