ScreenshotNeo

BlogComparisons

Nimbus Screenshot Free Plan Limits: Storage, Captures, and Export Options

Nimbus documents a 10 MB free file-upload limit and five-minute recordings, but no total storage quota or still-screenshot count. Here is what its help pages say about saving and exports.

By the ScreenshotNeo team4 October 20268 min read

Direct answer: Nimbus’s published help pages state a 10 MB maximum file upload on free plans and a five-minute limit for free video and audio recordings. They do not specify a total free cloud-storage quota or a numeric limit on still screenshots. The 10 MB figure is a per-file upload limit, not an account-wide storage allowance. These details come from Nimbus/FuseBase help pages whose indexed versions may be old, so check Nimbus’s current plan information before relying on a volatile entitlement.

For still screenshots, the documentation describes saving locally and workflows such as Nimbus Note, Google Drive, Slack, printing, and PDF. A browser settings guide documents image-format selection and JPG quality. Those workflow descriptions do not establish a complete current export matrix for every platform, plan, or client.

1. The limits, separated by what they apply to

Area What Nimbus documentation says How to interpret it
Free video/audio recording Up to five minutes A recording-duration cap, not a still-screenshot count. Nimbus states this for free recordings and free workspaces. Nimbus screenshot product page; recording guide.
File upload Up to 10 MB on free plans; the cited guide lists up to 1 GB for Pro This is the maximum size of an uploaded file described by the guide. It does not establish total cloud storage. Files and attachments guide.
Still screenshot count No numeric free-plan count found in the consulted official pages Do not treat missing documentation as proof that screenshots are unlimited.
Total cloud storage No total free-account quota found in the consulted official pages The 10 MB upload cap cannot be used to calculate an account-wide quota.
Quick Upload retention One year for screenshots uploaded without registration This retention statement applies to Quick Upload, not all account or workspace content. Quick Upload guide.

2. Does Nimbus free have a storage limit?

The consulted Nimbus help pages do not establish a total free cloud-storage quota. They do state that free plans can upload files up to 10 MB each. Keep those two measurements distinct:

  • Per-file upload cap: the largest single file the cited guide says a free plan can upload.
  • Account storage quota: the total space available across files and workspace content. The consulted pages do not give a number for this.

So if your question is whether a 12 MB attachment exceeds the documented free upload limit, the guide indicates that it does. If you need to know how many files or how much total content an account can keep, the cited documentation does not answer that. Confirm the current account terms with Nimbus rather than inferring a quota from the attachment cap.

3. How many screenshots can you capture?

The official pages consulted do not state a numeric cap on the number of still screenshots a free user can capture. They also do not establish that still captures are unlimited. Nimbus’s five-minute free limit refers to video/audio recording duration, not the number of still images.

For a workflow that depends on high-volume capture, distinguish the still-image capture count from file-upload limits, workspace storage, and recording duration. Check the current plan details for your Nimbus client and account before adopting a workflow that requires a guaranteed allowance.

4. What can you save or export?

Nimbus’s screenshot guide documents saving to a local drive and routes involving Nimbus Note, Google Drive, Slack, printing, and saving as PDF. The browser settings guide documents choosing an image format and adjusting JPG quality. See the Nimbus Screenshot guide and browser settings guide.

Need What the cited documentation supports Qualification
Keep a local image Save to a local drive; image format and JPG quality are configurable in the browser settings guide Available formats and exact controls may depend on the client.
Share or store in a service The screenshot guide describes Nimbus Note and Google Drive, plus sharing through Slack The documentation found does not provide a complete plan-by-plan integration matrix.
Produce a document The screenshot guide describes printing and saving as PDF This is documented capability, not proof that every client exposes the same flow.
Convert recordings Nimbus’s Capture Pro FAQ lists MP4/GIF conversion among advanced Capture features Capture Pro and Nimbus Note Pro are distinct subscriptions. Verify current plan naming and entitlement. Capture premium features FAQ.
Entire-page screenshots The same FAQ lists unlimited entire-page screenshots as a Capture Pro feature Do not assume this means unlimited screenshot count overall or a current free-plan allowance.
Watermarks The same FAQ lists watermarks among Capture Pro features Check the current product settings and subscription details.

5. Quick Upload is a separate storage case

Nimbus’s Quick Upload guide describes sharing a screenshot without creating an account. It says uploaded screenshots remain on the server for one year before deletion. That is useful for a temporary share link, but it should not be read as the retention policy for screenshots saved to a Nimbus workspace or another connected destination.

If a screenshot must remain available beyond that stated period, keep a local copy or use an account-managed destination whose retention terms meet your needs. The cited Quick Upload page does not establish a general Nimbus account retention period.

6. A practical way to check your workflow

  1. Identify the asset. Is it a still screenshot, a recording, or an uploaded attachment? Their limits are different.
  2. Check whether it is local or uploaded. Local saving is separate from workspace storage and Quick Upload retention.
  3. For uploads, compare file size. The guide states a 10 MB free-plan maximum per file.
  4. For recordings, check duration. Nimbus’s published help states five minutes for free recording.
  5. Choose the output route. The screenshot guide documents local save, Nimbus Note, Google Drive, Slack, printing, and PDF; settings include image format and JPG quality.
  6. Verify the plan before depending on a premium feature. Nimbus pages distinguish Capture Pro from Nimbus Note Pro, and plan labels or entitlements may have changed.

7. Common limit misunderstandings

“The 10 MB cap means I only get 10 MB of storage.”

No. The cited attachment guide describes a maximum upload size per file. It does not state a total account quota.

“Five minutes means I can only take screenshots for five minutes.”

No. The five-minute figure is for video/audio recording. The consulted sources give no still-screenshot count.

“No screenshot count is listed, so screenshots are unlimited.”

That conclusion is not supported. The consulted documentation simply does not give a count.

“Quick Upload keeps all Nimbus content for one year.”

The one-year statement is specifically about screenshots uploaded through Quick Upload without registration. It does not describe workspace content generally.

“PDF and every sharing destination work the same in every free client.”

The guide documents these workflows, but the sources do not provide a complete current plan-by-plan and client-by-client export matrix.

8. Troubleshooting

Symptom Likely explanation What to do
An upload is rejected near or above 10 MB The free-plan per-file upload maximum in the cited guide is 10 MB. Reduce the file size or check current plan options and upload rules. Do not assume upgrading changes total storage by the same amount.
A recording stops at five minutes Nimbus documentation gives free recording a five-minute duration limit. Shorten or split the recording, or verify the current recording entitlement for the plan you use.
A desired image format or quality control is missing Settings can vary by browser/client version, and the guide describes browser settings specifically. Consult the settings for your installed client and confirm it matches the guide’s browser workflow.
A shared Quick Upload screenshot is no longer available The Quick Upload guide says server copies are deleted after one year. Use a retained local or account-managed copy for durable access.
A feature appears to require a different subscription than expected Nimbus documentation distinguishes Capture Pro features from Nimbus Note Pro. Check the exact product and plan name in the current Nimbus account or plan page.

9. Reliability, workflow, and cost considerations

For dependable archiving, save a local copy or use a destination with retention terms you have checked. Quick Upload is convenient for sharing, but its guide gives a one-year server-retention period. For cloud workflows, account for the documented 10 MB per-file upload maximum on free plans and confirm any total workspace quota separately.

For routine still screenshots, the consulted pages do not provide enough information to calculate a free capture allowance or total storage budget. Avoid planning around an assumed unlimited count. For long recordings, the published free limit is five minutes; current paid entitlements and plan prices should be checked directly because the available Nimbus plan pages may be stale. The Capture Pro FAQ lists MP4/GIF conversion, watermarks, and unlimited entire-page screenshots as premium Capture features, but that does not establish a full current comparison of all export options.

10. ScreenshotNeo as an alternative for website screenshot automation

If the job is capturing website screenshots through an API or from an AI workflow, ScreenshotNeo is an alternative to try first: it removes cookie banners, newsletter popups, and chat widgets before capture, bills only clean shots, and its paid plans start at $5 for 3,000 screenshots. It is a website screenshot API and MCP server, rather than a general Nimbus storage or note-taking replacement.

Or skip the browser setup

Use one GET request to capture a page. See the ScreenshotNeo API documentation for request options.

curl -G "https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot" -d access_key=YOUR_API_KEY --data-urlencode url=https://stripe.com -o shot.webp
import requests
r = requests.get("https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot", params={"access_key": "YOUR_API_KEY", "url": "https://stripe.com"}, timeout=90)
open("shot.webp", "wb").write(r.content)
const q = new URLSearchParams({ access_key: 'YOUR_API_KEY', url: 'https://stripe.com' });
const res = await fetch(`https://api.screenshotneo.com/v1/shot?${q}`);
  • Cookie banners, popups, and chat widgets are removed before the shot.
  • Bot checks, blank pages, and failed loads are never billed.
  • An MCP server lets AI agents use screenshot tools.
  • 1,000 screenshots a month are free with no card; paid plans start at $5 for 3,000.

Sign up for ScreenshotNeo free: 1,000 screenshots a month, no card required.

11. FAQ

Is the 10 MB limit a total storage quota?

No. Nimbus’s cited guide describes a per-file upload maximum; it does not state a total quota.

Does the five-minute cap apply to still screenshots?

No. It applies to free video/audio recordings in the cited Nimbus documentation.

Can I save Nimbus screenshots as PDF?

The Nimbus screenshot guide documents saving as PDF. It does not provide a full current plan-by-plan export matrix.

Are Quick Upload screenshots permanent?

No. The guide says screenshots uploaded without registration are retained on the server for one year before deletion.

Does Nimbus publish a free screenshot count in the sources cited here?

No numeric still-screenshot allowance was found in the consulted official pages, so the available evidence does not support a precise count or an unlimited claim.

Sources